2009 – 2010 Board of Directors

(effective 7/1/09 through 6/30/10)

President: Phil Bravo
This is the club’s leader who works to ensure that its activities and projects are successfully promoted and completed. He is responsible for club operations, delegating responsibilities to members, establishing meeting schedules and developing committees. He maintains a regular communication with the South Jax Rotary and the District Rotaract Representative.

Vice President and President-Elect: William Milne
As assistant to the President, this person works to ensure goals and projects are carried out through the year, including membership growth and retention. He ascends to the office of President in the event of the President’s absence, and he serves as vice-chair of the Club Service committee.

Secretary: Laura Wharen
This person is responsible for creating and maintaining all club correspondence, including meeting minutes, membership roster, official calendar of events, and post office box. She also serves as vice-chair of the PR committee.

Treasurer: Jim Busch
As collector and disburser of club funds, this person is responsible for financial stability of the club through budgeting, dues collection, and bill paying.

Sergeant At Arms: Steve Congro
This is the person who liaisons with our meeting facility, Haskell, prepares for meetings with signage and name badges, tracks attendance at all meetings, welcomes new members and guests at meetings, conducts charge to new members and distributes their certificates and pins. She also serves as vice-chair of the Professional Development committee.

Immediate Past President: Jode Ballard
This person serves in a general advisory position to the board, serves as a backup to the president and vice president, and is responsible for organizing the upcoming Gala activities.

At-Large Board Members: Chris Duguid, Summer Lee, Patrick Thompson
These positions represent the membership and serve as vice-chairs of committees.


Club Service
Chair: Leah Patterson
The Club Service Committee plans at least six social events per year, as well as one event involving the Rotary Club of South Jacksonville. It also coordinates after-meeting dinners, sign-ups for attendance at South Jax Rotary meetings, and assists the vice president at membership drives.

Community Service

Chair: Chrissy Congro
The Community Service Committee plans at least six community service projects per year, as well as the annual Big Brothers Big Sisters picnic.

International Service & Outreach
Chair: James Hopkins/Elizabeth Sullivan
The International Service Committee plans and coordinates at least two international service projects a year. It also communicates with local Interact clubs.

Professional Development
Chair: Catherine Williams
The Professional Development Committee invites and arranges for speakers at every meeting, introduces speakers, coordinates “Craft Talk” sessions at meetings and promotes ethics and integrity among members.

Chair: Kevin Basarab
The Technology Committee develops and maintains the chapter website (jaxrotaract.org) by including all meeting dates and minutes, events and photos from events.

Public Relations
Chair: Toni Duguid
The Public Relations Committee creates and maintains a scrapbook of events throughout the year, including photos, printed materials and publicity. It also coordinates media exposure for many club activities and assures events are well documented with photographs.

Chair: David Deveise
The Rotary Committee maintains a good working relationship with South Jax Rotary and other clubs in our District. It also coordinates the Rotary Mentoring program.

%d bloggers like this: